History

History and tradition: the fascinating history of the Zollenspieker Fährhauses.

" The Zollenspieker says hello to you: 'I want to see everyone happy and cheerful!' "

The house used to have an unwritten motto in the hall, framed by four-country motifs.

A Piece of Hamburg History

The traditional house has been under monument protection for over 765 years, boasting a rich history.

Zollenspieker-Faehrhaus-Terrasse-4

Originally built as a customs tower, the building was rebuilt the following year after being destroyed by Lüneburg troops in 1620. In addition to its function as an inn and service area, the traditional house has also served as a customs station and ferry house at one of Hamburg’s oldest Elbe ferry crossings. In 1863, the customs office was abolished, and the traditional house was given a new look with the addition of a dance hall. Ever since the old ferry house has become a popular spot due to its majestic view of the Elbe and the old chestnut trees in its beer garden.

New in bookstores and also available through our website

Zollenspieker Fährhaus - 800 Years of Hamburg History on the Elbe

By Joachim Mohr (Author), Olav Sellhorn, and Ria Henning-Lohmann, published by Hummerstein Verlag.

Facts and Figures About the Zollenspieker

The foundation walls can be traced back to the year 1252.

Year
1252
As of 1252, a ferry connection has been available between Hoopte in Lower Saxony and Zollenspieker on the opposite side of the Elbe. Today, this ferry is still in operation.
Year
1252

The name "Toln Spieker" was first mentioned in 1460. It was where boatmen and travelers crossing the Elbe River were required to pay customs duty, also known as "Tol." Additionally, the " Spieker " warehouse provided secure storage space for goods.

Year
1460

Destruction by Lüneburg troops and subsequent reconstruction in 1621

Year
1620

1626 / 1627. During the Thirty Years' War, changing troops camped at the Fährhaus.

Year
1626

New construction of the main facade with a stepped gable.

Year
1866

In 1870, Zollenspieker became a tourist attraction. The old customs warehouse became a restaurant with a dance hall.

Year
1870

Construction of the Hauge House.

Year
1880

Extension of the coffee terrace.

Year
1890
In 1920, the Fährhaus managed to avoid a devastating fire in Zollenspieker.
Year
1920
In 1920, the Fährhaus managed to avoid a devastating fire in Zollenspieker.
Year
1945
During the great flood, the Zollenspieker was underwater.
Year
1962
Founding of the Zollenspieker Yacht Club.
Year
1963
The Zollenspieker Fährhaus becomes the property of Bodo Sellhorn and is thoroughly renovated by 1997.
Year
1994
2012 Opening of the 4-star hotel.
Year
2012
Extension and conversion of the kitchen in the traditional house.
Year
2014

Symbiosis of Old and New

In May 2012, the Zollenspieker Fährhaus underwent a significant expansion, aligning it with modern standards of hotel and gastronomy comfort while preserving its rich history.

Zollenspieker
Zollenspieker_Ueber-Uns_Karte-02

Elbe River Kilometer 598.5

Gardens, fields, greenhouses, and the majestic Elbe characterize the scenic character of the Vier- und Marschlande in the southeast of Hamburg. Here, next to a nature reserve and the romantic dyke, is the Zollenspieker Fährhaus at Elbe River kilometer 598.5. Between the 13th and 19th centuries, a customs and ferry station was established to monitor the sovereignty of the Elbe by the respective landlord. The ferry at the pier right in front of our door is still available to take day-trippers across Elbe. Whether viewing from the water or the numerous beautiful vantage points in and around our house, the unique location at the southernmost point of the Hamburg Elbe provides an unparalleled panoramic view of the riverbanks and the Elbe.

“Goose like at Home” vs. “Goose to Go”

November 11 – December 27, 2025
The MARKERUPER GOOSE - Enjoy the taste of the festive season with our crispy roasted goose from the Markerup Goose Farm!
Learn More

Your message has been sent successfully.